Five on Friday: My Excuses

Remember how one of my New Year’s resolutions was to blog once a week? Sorry I took approximately one month off. Was I missed? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? It has been a crazy busy few weeks and these are my excuses.
1. We took a vacation! Actually, I’m not sure any trip with a baby can be considered a vacation as I was definitely up numerous times a night and our day started at 6am. We rented a beach house on Lake Michigan in Wisconsin. This is the third time we’ve been to the Sheboygan area and we will definitely be back. Our home was directly on the beach with an amazing view of the lake. We had a fabulous deck, a firepit, and a cute little kitchen. Unfortunately, it was like 60* the entire time we were there so rather than getting a sweet sweet tan, we wore our fleeces. It did give my husband a good excuse to start our bonfire at 4pm so we could keep warm. We spent our days taking long walks on the beach, throwing the ball 8 million times for the dog, BBQing, drinking Spotted Cow and playing one-on-one Trivial Pursuit. We can’t wait to go back next summer!             2. Em and I hit the friendly skies! (Post to come on traveling with an 11 month old.) My best friend just had her second baby girl, and her mother-in-law and sister-in-law hosted a Sip & See party for everyone to meet sweet sweet Emmylou! A Sip & See is a great way to celebrate the arrival of a second babe. Mama can indulge in a few glasses of bubbly and everyone gets to snuggle in that baby scent. I’m not going to lie…it made me want another baby girl ASAP. But then I remembered I haven’t really slept through the night in a year and I cooled my ovaries down. Our girlfriend Annie (who is expecting her second) came down from Boston with her two year old David Bowie lover and I cannot describe how wonderful it was to be in the company of two of my nearest and dearest again. Our lives sure have changed in the past 15 years, and we don’t see one another as often as we’d like, but I am so thankful to have these women in my life. 
3. Work has been crazy! I’m proud to share that one of the hospitals in the healthcare system I work for is opening a state of the art outpatient care facility in Lakeview. Our team has been fundraising for this initiative for the past few years and it is fabulous to see all the work come to fruition. For those of you in the Chicago area, I’d be happy to give you a tour of the Presence Center for Advanced Care, which opens for business on Monday!

8753-Header-Overview.jpg

4. Family was in town. My parents (and in-laws) were here, which meant lots of cleaning and socializing, and not a lot of time in front of my computer. Needless to say, all four of the grandparents are obsessed with Emma and Tim & I enjoyed a little date night out thanks to my mom and dad. Chicago peeps, you must try Kai Zan, an amazing Japanese restaurant in Humboldt Park. It was a delicious birthday celebration…complete with two glasses of sparkling rose. 
5. My little girl turned one! I promise to post a full recap of her pink and gold party next week. She was, per usual, a total doll and enjoyed her first taste of sugar!    

2 thoughts on “Five on Friday: My Excuses

Leave a Reply

