Jalapeño Watermelon Margarita

Apparently today is National Watermelon Day, so I’m totally in trend with my post. I am not a huge tequila drinker, but I’ve pinned about 10,000 versions of watermelon margaritas this summer so when my husband declared yesterday a “Sunday Funday”, I went for it.
This recipe is adapted from Spicy Southern Kitchen. I’m using her measurements below because I basically just winged it. I also didn’t have triple sec so omitted it. I highly recommend you salt the rims. So necessary and so delicious–it really cuts through the sweetness of the drink.  Also, a little tip for you local folks, Mariano’s sells freshly squeezed watermelon juice. WAY easier then buying watermelon, cubing, blending and straining.  Jalapeño Watermelon Margaritas
Ingredients:
1 jalapeño
3/4 cup tequila (I think I used more)
8-10 cups watermelon chunks or bottle of watermelon juice from Mariano’s
1/2 cup fresh lime juice
1/3 cup Triple Sec (I omitted)
1/4 cup simple syrup
Instructions
  1. Place tequila and a few slices of jalapeno in a glass  and place in the refrigerator for an hour or two.  Keep tasting to see if it is hot enough. I infused the tequila for about an hour and it wasn’t long enough for me–I like a little spice!
  2. Place watermelon chunks in a blender and blend until liquified. Pour watermelon through a fine-meshed strainer. Measure out 3 cups of watermelon juice OR go to Mariano’s and purchase a delicious bottle of freshly squeezed juice.
  3. In a large pitcher, combine the watermelon juice, tequila, lime juice, Triple Sec, and simple syrup. (To make simple syrup, mix equal parts sugar and water in a saucepan, heat over low heat stirring non-stop until combined.)
  4. Rub the rims of your glasses with lime juice and dip in a plate of coarse sea salt. Fill glass with ice, top with your tasty drink, squeeze in another little splash of lime and garnish with a few slices of jalapeno. Ole!
      
I have plenty of watermelon juice left so I think I’m going to whip up another vodka cocktail this week. Would you all be interested in the recipe?
2 thoughts on “Jalapeño Watermelon Margarita

Leave a Reply

