Spiralize Me Skinny

I admit it, I jumped on the spiralizer bandwagon. Per the recommendation of a million bloggers, I bought the Paderno Spiral Vegetable Slicer. It wasn’t too expensive so I figured if I didn’t use it, it wouldn’t be a huge loss. With the start of my healthy eating and the elimination of dairy, this seemed a good time to purchase a kitchen accessory that encouraged me to eat my veggies. It’s basically like an upstanding mandoline, except I didn’t almost bleed to death each time I’ve used it.
So far, I’ve made three spiralizer recipes:
1.  Cucumber Noodles and Spicy Sesame Soy Dressing 

FullSizeRender (3)

This didn’t take long to make and was actually pretty tasty. I used an English cucumber because they have less seeds, but there were still a few noodles that were just a string of that mushy area around the seeds. Yuck. As cucumbers are very watery, this was a pretty messy meal to make as cucumber juice (?) gushed over my counter. The whole time I was eating this, I kept thinking, this sauce would be delicious…with actual noodles. I ate it for lunch and it definitely wasn’t enough. Next time I’d pair it with a protein, maybe the Asian Glazed Drumsticks I made last week.
2. Sweet potato fries
I used the larger blades for these so they were more “fry” like. I covered a cookie sheet in tinfoil, spread a little olive oil on it and the sweet potatoes, and seasoned with salt, pepper and Lawry’s seasoning salt. And…then I burnt the shit out of them. Twice. Hence, there are no after photos. That said, I still ate them and they were pretty delicious. Maybe if you paid attention to them instead of walking away, yours would turn out perfectly.  I had the oven set at 400* which was potentially a twitch too high. I will keep trying! I served this with Turkey meatloaf and brussels  sprouts for a (relatively) healthy dinner that my husband wouldn’t touch.
3. Shrimp Scampi Zoodles
I really really like saying “zoodles”. Say it out loud. Zoodles. See? You like saying it too. The texture of the zucchini was noodle-like and this was a satisfying dinner. The flavor was good, especially considering I didn’t add butter or parmesan thanks to baby’s dairy allergy and didn’t have parsley or lemon juice. Basically it was zucchini, shrimp, garlic and olive oil, and definitely something I would make again. I didn’t take a photo because my zoodles got brown when cooking and they looked ugly (as opposed to my other gorgeous food photos across this post). I’d like to try the zoodles again, maybe with meat sauce as a substitute for spaghetti or in an asian inspired dish.
Spiralizer Review: Worthy purchase, but a pain in the butt to clean. I fear for my fingers while I’m trying to clean all the veggie pieces out of the blades.
10 thoughts on “Spiralize Me Skinny

  1. I will wager your lil E will be ok with your re-intro of dairy after about 3-4 more months. Was the case for lil P, anyway. TJs lactose free vanilla coffee creamer was one of the lifesavers! (And I didn’t waste a drop of that dairy-laced early-days pumped milk…just introduced it gradually again when he turned 7 months or so!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

